Born in Trinidad, West Indies, Ian was educated at Queens Royal College and Cambridge University. His career has spanned several decades in a variety of fields: Business, Sports and Literature. Ian is the recipient of numerous awards from the Government of Guyana, the Royal Society of Literature, and the University of the West Indies. He has written extensively and lectured widely on cricket. In addition to writing poetry and prose, Ian has edited and co-edited numerous collections and anthologies. His novel The Hummingbird Tree(1969) was made into a BBC film. He won the Guyana Prize for Literature—Poetry three times: in 1992, 2004 and 2012 and has published six poetry collections in addition to short stories and a collection of essays and speeches. He continues to write on cricket and poetry and several publications are in the works.



  • The Hummingbird Tree (1969 )



  • Mercy Ward ( 1988 )
  • Essequibo ( 1992 )
  • Jaffo The Calypsonian ( 1994 )
  • Between Silence And Silence ( 2003 )
  • The Comfort Of All Things ( 2012  
  • River Dancer ( 2016 )
  • People Of Guyana  (2018with Peter Jailall)
  • Poems For Mary (2020)



  • Tramping Man ( 1969 )



  • A Cloud Of Witnesses ( 2012 )
  • A Love Of Poetry ( 2013 )


Copyright MiddleRoadPublishers

Translate This Page